Old Soul in a Digital World

VibeTurntable.jpg

“People still buy CDs?” a young friend asked in disgust. She said that she buys her music digitally, like most millenials. Me, I prefer the physical touch of a CD. I love looking at the booklet that comes with it.

I recently purchased vinyls and a turntable. There is nothing quite like the album art of Bowie’s “Aladdin Sane” or Queen’s “News of the World.” Buying these digitally takes away from the artwork of the covers.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my iPod. I’ve had it for 8 years and I never leave home without it. However, I love having the CD to download onto my computer and then put it on my iPod.

I love having a CD to listen to at night as I’m falling asleep. I want to be able to listen to my CDs in the car. I want to pass my favorite classic artists’ vinyls onto future generations. I love having something physical to get signed if I see a performer live in concert.

5 thoughts on “Old Soul in a Digital World

  1. Nothing digital can replace the unique sound of the needle first touching the vinyl. It’s different every single time depending on the groove of the record, making each play special in it’s own way.
    I’m with you. Also have and listen to much digital recordings but if I were stranded on a desert island, I’d want my 30 yr old turntable and 200+ albums with me.
    Marianne

    Like

  2. I do remember the first “record player” i had as a teenager… and all the albums I bought with my babysitting money… lots of Beatles of course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

