Obstacles in my Creative Process

901

As a journalist/writer, there are a lot of things that interfere with my creative process. I am a student at Temple University, so exams and assignments get in the way of my creative process. However, some of my best ideas have come from being on campus. Having things to do other than writing tends to drain my time and energy that could be spent on creative work. Having to write assignments in a particular way, while constraining at first, gives me tools to expand into new types of writing that I may not have desired to use before. It allows me to decide how I want to write something by giving me new tools and allowing me to not focus on the styles I don’t like.

Also, when I’m in this one room in my house, the Wifi is spotty, which causes me to not be able to write in that particular room. I have to move to a different room that has better Wifi connection. While it is good to get up and move every so often, it is a hassle to move my laptop and notebook.

Social media is a distraction. I tend to NEED to look to see what is happening with my friends and family and to check notifications, emails, etc. I go down the rabbit hole and it eats away at my time. Before I know it, hours have gone by and I have only finished a little bit of writing what I want to.

(Response to: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/discover-challenges/obstacles/)

Leave a Reply

