I am a community college graduate. There, I said it (with pride, may I add?). This statement has a stigma of not accomplishing anything and of being stupid enough to not make it into a 4-year institution. This is simply not the case. My community college experience may be different from others’, but I do not regret going through it.

I am a better person because of my community college experience. In high school, I did not have the drive and focus to go to a 4-year institution right away.  With the help of my school’s college center, I applied to Montgomery County Community College. It was there that I found my drive to succeed and did so. I made Dean’s List all but one semester (it was a tough semester), I joined the Christian club on campus, and I was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. The struggles I dealt with helped me become the strong person I am today.

Because I went to a community college before going to a 4-year university, I reduced the amount of loans I will have to pay back in the future. I was fortunate enough to have grants that covered the cost of community college, eliminating the need for loans (this is based on my family’s income and will be different for each student/family). This reduced the amount that I have to pay back in the future.

At my community college, the professors worked in the fields they taught, giving students a great perspective. They were knowledgeable and confident in what they taught. This helped prepare me for the rigor of a 4-year university. My one professor from Montco actually teaches where I transferred to as well, which gave me a perspective of what it is like.

Leave a Reply

