A Month of Thanks 2015

November is the month in which Thanksgiving falls, so each day, I’m going to post 5 things I’m grateful for.

  • Day 1
    • Re-Creation: I’m thankful for this amazing group of volunteers who perform at America’s VA medical centers and nursing homes. They give up a year, many times more, of their lives to make our veterans feel loved and appreciated.
    • A job: I’m thankful to have a way to support myself through school
    • School: I go to Temple, which is such a great school. I am a journalism major in one of the top programs in the nation.
    • Food: I am beyond blessed to be able to have multiple meals in a day without worrying about where they’ll come from.
    • God: I am eternally grateful to God for His love and guidance, and for sending Jesus to die for my sins so I don’t have to.
  • Day 2
    • Septa: I am thankful for a way to get to school without having to drive.
    • Computers: I’m thankful for a way to do homework neatly and by using online resources. I’m thankful for having access to them.
    • Music: Music is a healing force for me. It helps me put emotions to sound.
    • School of Media and Communication, Temple: I absolutely LOVE being a journalism major. Seriously. My professors are so encouraging, and other professors within the School are so helpful and are willing to meet with me to get to know me.
    • A bed: After a long day, nothing feels better than falling into the loving embrace of my comfortable bed. It feels amazing. I am thankful for this luxury and am aware that too many go without.
  •  Day 3
    • Guest speakers in my classes: I love having guest speakers in my classes. They give great insight and teach things from a different perspective.
    • Email/social media: I love that I can keep in touch with friends and family who may live far away, and even meet new friends. It is a blessing to have a way to keep the connection going over a distance.
    • Fellow Christians: I love that I don’t have to be the only Christian in the universe. It gets tough when I feel like no one else believes, but I am reminded that Christ never leaves me and that there are other believers that show up in unexpected places.
    • The hayride last night: I got a free hayride through a Christian group I am part of. The group was amazing. I was a bit afraid (we were sitting on bales of hay on an open trailer), but they assured me nothing would happen. We all broke into “Lean on Me,” which was awesome!
    • The thought of Heaven: In this world, people come and go. We may have gotten close to them, but God calls them elsewhere and you are not sure if you will ever see them again. I was reminded the other day that we will see our loved ones again someday, whether on this earth or in Heaven, and I am thankful for this assurance. I am also thankful that God loves me enough to want to spend eternity with me!
  • Day 4
    • Memories: Sometimes, I miss people I do not get to see for whatever reason. However, I can remember the times we had together and that makes me smile.
    • Laughter: When times are difficult, laughter lifts my spirit. It helps me be happy and joyful amidst my  hardships and trials.
    • Refrigerator: I am thankful that this appliance preserves my food and keeps it cold. My family would have to buy food every day if the fridge did not exist.
    • Crafts: I love being able to express myself through my crafts. I love the thought of being able to envision something and make it into being. It is a gratifying experience.
    • Door locks: I am thankful for locks on my doors to keep me safe at night and to keep bad people out of my home and away from my family. I do not have to worry about someone breaking in.
  • Day 5
    • My church: my church is made up of some of the greatest, and funniest, people I know. I am blessed to be a part of a church that is so caring about people.
    • Getting a seat on the train: Although it takes a little effort to get them to move their bags, but some people are willing.
    • Getting home safely: My train hit something, but we were only stopped for a few seconds, which was good but still a bit scary.
    • My willingness to try new foods: I tried roasted cauliflower and it was so delicious. It was very flavorful and had a great texture to it.
    • My afternoon conductor: He was very calm and reassuring when we hit whatever it was that we hit, and he was completely certain that we would be fine and moving in less than a minute, which we were.
  • Day 6
    • Time to get work done on the train: So many people on the train just sit there and do nothing, but I like doing homework and reading assignments. I am on the train for almost an hour, so I do not want to waste this time.
    • Saxby’s on campus: I have fallen in love with Saxby’s Chocolate Chip Frolatte. I am not a fan of the coffee taste per se, but I like coffee drinks that disguise the taste, and this beverage does just that. It is sweet and delicious.
    • Voice recorders: I was able to use my voice recorder to record an interview I did for homework, which enabled me to not have to scribble down illegible notes. It allowed me to listen to what my subject was saying and ask a question based off something she said.
    •  Events on campus: I love going to various speakers on campus. It is awesome to hear new things about the world around me, even if it is not related to my major.
    • Coffee: I love getting coffee before my day starts. It does not happen every day, but I am grateful for the times I am able to get it. It gives me energy to conquer the world and my day.
  • Day 7
    • Friends: I have the best friends in the world. They encourage me to be my best and to try new things.
    • Having the chance to be a Wanderu Campus Ambassador: I found out that I got the position of Campus Ambassador. I will be posting blog posts on their new blog about my campus and Philadelphia.
    • God’s strength: I am thankful that God gives me strength to get through long days at work and school, and that He makes the rough days pass.
    • Computer: I am thankful for having a laptop that works so that I can do homework and research with ease.
    • Planners: I am thankful for having a place to write down what I need to do each day and the strength to get it done.
  • Day 8
    • Patient First and related services: These places offer great medical care at a pretty fast pace. They are helpful so that I can get in and out and pick up whatever medication I need right there.
    • Sunday school kids: I help with Sunday school, and the kids are amazing. They have a desire to know God and answer questions enthusiastically.
    • Peace Valley: I love that this place makes an effort to help the environment. They provide great resources and educational programs for kids and adults alike.
    • Texting: I would not have been able to finish my homework assignment without being able to text the person I was writing about.
    • The ability to help others: I love getting the chance to help others. I got to help a classmate with her assignment. Helping others in other ways as well gives me such a great feeling.
  • Day 9
    • Cheese steaks: I love being able to get a cheese steak on campus! I get the from Richie’s and they are amazing!
    • Temple: I love my school, if you could not tell! I love that there are so many opportunities a train stop away. I have grown so much in the year and a half that I have been here
    • Poetry: I love using poetry to express myself in new and creative ways. I took a poetry class back in the spring semester and I learned so many new things about different forms than I was use to doing before.
    • My semester train pass: I am able to go anywhere at any time because of my train pass. I do not have to worry about purchasing a ticket every day or a pass each week or month. I have freedom and flexibility.
    • The feeling when an assignment is turned in: There is nothing more gratifying than finishing a difficult project and turning it in (other than getting an awesome grade, of course). It feels great to have it out of the way so you can focus on other things.
  • Day 10
    • Laid-back days: It is rainy and dreary out today. I am thankful that I get a really relaxed day in my classes. We have guest speakers in both!
    • My willingness to try new things: I am  thankful that God gave me a spirit of courage that allows me to want to try new things. This has been awesome with food lately. I have been willing to branch from my comfort zone and try new things.
    • Rain boots: It is raining today, and I am thankful that I have protective footwear to keep my feet dry and warm.
    • Dancing: Dancing is so much fun, and at the college-aged Christian group I go to Monday nights, a few of us broke into dancing. It felt good to let off some steam and to praise God for all He did last night.
    • Acceptance: I love seeing people love on and accept, without judgment, someone who is a bit different. Being involved in Christian groups, even as a Christian, can get dicey with people being judgmental about certain things. It is a blessing to be welcomed with open arms, and to see that happen to others as well.
  • Day 11
    • Our troops and veterans: I am eternally indebted to our troops and veterans for all they do for our country. They have sacrificed so much for us and risk their lives to fight for our freedoms every day. “Thank you” will never be enough.
    • Breaks between classes: I love having a long stretch between classes every day (except Mondays). It is nice to not have to rush to my next class.
    • Patience: I am thankful that God has gifted me with patience to remain calm in annoying situations.
    • A review session for an economics exam: We have an economics exam on Friday and we reviewed today, which is helpful because I know what will be on it.
    • Temple’s Veteran’s Day recognition ceremony: Although I could not attend due to class conflicts, Temple held a recognition ceremony for Veteran’s Day. I am thankful that Temple cares this much.
  • Day 12
    • Boring class days: Days where the classes are boring help me appreciate the exciting days.
    • Pandora Radio: I love having this site to listen to while doing work at school. I made a Colton Dixon station to almost make up for not going to the concert.
    • God’s will: I am thankful that God has a plan for my life. Even when things do not work out my way, I trust that they work out God’s way.
    • The TobyMac/Colton Dixon/Britt Nicole concert tonight: Even though I cannot attend, I am thankful that Temple is allowing God to be worshiped on campus.
    • Silent train rides: I love having people to talk to on the train, but I enjoy sitting in silence, thinking about my day.
  • Day 13
    • VP position in a club: I have been blessed to be a vice president of a club a friend and I are starting! I am excited for this opportunity.
    • Study time: I have so much time to study and do work on Fridays. It is a blessing to get things done!
    • View of Philly’s skyline from the train: Being able to see the skyline of Philadelphia lets me know that I am near school and the city I love.
    • Opportunities to give back: Temple’s School of Media and Communication is having a Thanksgiving food drive and the goods are going to a Presbyterian church in Philly. I am thankful for a chance to show others God’s amazing love.
    • Crowded trains: I enjoy being able to sit where I want by myself when the train is crowded in the afternoon. I am thankful for those willing to give me their seat.
  • Day 14
    • 2 weeks until Almost Queen!: I am thankful that I get to see one of my favorite bands in a couple short weeks (that will seem like an eternity).
    • Lynda.com: I am thankful for the fact that I get Lynda.com courses free through Temple. They are a blessing.
    • My mom’s barbecue meatballs: These meatballs are the most delicious things ever. I am in love with them! Best crock pot recipe!
    • Temple’s football team: They work so hard and even when they lose, they are graceful and fight to the end.
    • Peace after nightmares/weird dreams: I had a couple bizarre dreams last night, and I am thankful that God gives me peace afterwards to carry on.
  • Day 15
    • Giving nature of my church: My church is the most giving church I have seen. We do so much for others, in our church and outside.
    • Last year’s Death and Dying class: I am thankful that I took a Death and Dying class. I now have the opportunity to help presenters (Sisters Inspired to Defeat AIDS) in their food drive.
    • CNN: I am thankful that CNN has been covering the Paris attacks so well. It has been so informational.
    • Clothes:I am thankful that I have warm clothes for the winter. It is a necessity that some are not afforded.
    • Love: I am thankful to have the feeling of being loved and appreciated by so many people.
  • Day 16
    • Moments when I get a better grade on a test than I thought: I got a B on an exam I wasn’t so sure about!
    • Creativity: I love being able to make something out of nothing and come up with ideas about things.
    • Acceptance: I am thankful for people who are accepting of me and others, no matter what.
    • Texting: I have texted so much today, but it has helped me work things out with people and helped me move forward.
    • Leaving class early: I love when I get out of class early so I do not have to rush to my next class.
  • Day 17
    • My blog: I am thankful to have a platform to express myself and spread awareness of issues.
    • Bounty of gifts from God: God has blessed me with so much! I am thankful to Him for all He has given me so that I can give freely to others.
    • My Coke Rewards: I love having a rewards program for something I use regularly. I am also blessed that I can donate to the USO through this program.
    • Facebook’s “On This Day” feature: I love going through old memories and statuses and seeing how I have matured and grown over the years.
    • Big Bang Theory while doing homework: I am thankful that TBS has Big Bang Theory on A LOT and that I have a show to keep me company and make me laugh while doing homework.
  • Day 18
    • Our community choir: Every so often, my church teams up with other Hatfield churches to sing for special services. We all sound amazing together and practicing tonight was awesome.
    • My ability to laugh at myself: Nobody’s perfect, so it is important to have a sense of humor about mistakes.
    • My willingness to be out of my comfort zone: I do not do this as much as I should, but I tend to do this when it involves helping others.
    • Classmates I am friends with: I love having classmates who I get along with and who support me and each other.
    • My night owl nature: I am thankful that I am able to stay up late to get work done without NEEDING to go to bed soon.
  • Day 19
    • My maturity: I have seen how mature and intelligent I have grown over the years. I can compare myself to the freshmen in my classes.
    • Smart people in group projects: I had a group project in my one class and everyone was awesome and worked so hard, which never happens.
    • Awesome professors: I enjoy that my professors do not look down on us like we are immature little children.
    • New episodes of Big Bang Theory: Tonight’s episode was amazing! I have never laughed so hard in my life!
    • Shows that show others volunteering: In the new episode of Big Bang Theory, a few of the characters go to a soup kitchen to serve a meal on Thanksgiving. I love that shows care and are willing to show how to get involved.
  • Day 20
    • Finishing stressful homework: I am not the greatest in Economics and we had two online homework assignments due today, but I finished them and passed!
    • Chance to catch up on sleep: My class was cancelled today and I got to sleep in! It was glorious!
    • Flashnotes: I became a tutor on luvolearn.com and had my first tutoring session today. It went well!
    • Seeing people I have not seen in a while: I went to a favorite restaurant and saw my favorite waitresses. It was lovely seeing them since I have not been there since school started.
    • Chance to voice my opinion: Every semester, students have an opportunity to express how they felt about a class. This gives students a chance to let professors know how they are doing.
  • Day 21
    • A job: I am blessed to have a job where I am making decent money and am surrounded by people who are awesome.
  • Day 22
    • Chance to witness something new at church
  • Day 23
    • Chance to visit friends at Montco
  • Day 24
    • Sweet potato soup
  • Day 25
    • Thanksgiving Eve service at church
  • Day 26
    • A day to spend with my family
  • Day 27
    • Sight to see the beautiful lights at Peddler’s Village!
  • Day 28
    • The awesomeness that is Almost Queen. Seriously the greatest group of guys around!
  • Day 29
    • An opportunity to hear a sermon by a different pastor. Different perspectives are great!
  • Day 30
    • Good days.
Leave a Reply

