Biblical Themes in Secular Movies: The Wizard of Oz

-“When the storm has swept by, the wicked are gone, but the righteous stand firm forever.” Proverbs 10:25

In this popular story, the Wicked Witch of the West is destroyed when Dorothy’s house lands on her. When the storms of life are sweeping through, those who go to God as their Rock stand firm and push forward. However, those who do not have trust in God are knocked down. When you are struggling, rest in your Rock. After all, He can walk on the stormy waters and calm any storm!

Prayer: Dear Father, thank you for being the Rock of my salvation that I put my trust in. Protect me when the storms of life blow and howl. Help me to always put my hope and trust in You, my shelter. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

-“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”    Deuteronomy 3:16

           The Cowardly Lion was afraid of EVERYTHING, even his own tail! He lost sleep at night due to being afraid of the night. He fainted as he asked the Wizard for courage. God calls us to be lion hearted, but not in this way! He calls us to be brave and courageous, not scared and afraid. We were made to be warriors of God, and to go out and fight the good fight with Him by our side all the way. He wants us to come boldly before Him in prayer!

Prayer: Dear Father, thank you for giving me a spirit of courage. Forgive me when I forget this and am fearful. Be with me when things are scary, and help me to remember that you are always with me. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

-“And you are to love those who are foreigners, for you yourselves were foreigners in Egypt.” Deuteronomy 10:19

When Dorothy and Toto enter the new land, they are welcomed by Scarecrow, Tin Man, and Lion. They are encouraging and loving as they venture to Oz to see the Wizard. They welcome Dorothy and Toto and they love them like they have known them forever, although it has only been a few days.  God commands us to love everyone, including those not part of your culture, religion, nation, etc. As Christians, we are to love everybody, despite their differences. They may have different appearances, backgrounds, and perspectives, but we are to love them like God loved us. God loved us while we were still sinners, and He commands us to love in this way towards others, no matter what.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for sending Your Son to die for my sins, even when I was still a sinner. I thank you for those You have placed in my life who love me without conditions. Please help me to extend this same love to all I come in contact with. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

-“Then Joshua blessed them and sent them away, and they went to their homes.” Joshua 22:6

Dorothy’s end goal was to go home. When she went to Oz, she asked the Wizard to help her find her way home. It took a while and some hard work, but in the end, (spoiler alert) she reaches her goal of going home. It was a hard fight, like what Joshua might have faced during his battles, so being able  to go home must have felt good!

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for my home. Thank you for the protection of the roof over my head and locks on my door to keep me safe at night. I pray for those who don’t have a home. Give me ways to help them and bless them, like you want me to. Give me resources to give to them to make their lives a little easier. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

-“If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” James 1:5

The Scarecrow did not have a brain, though he longed for one. He figured he would go to Oz with Dorothy and ask him for a brain. In this way, God calls us to be wise in the knowledge of Him and His ways. If we lack such wisdom, we are called to ask Him to give us wisdom, and He will give it to us in abundance. All we have to do is seek Him and His knowledge.

Prayer: Thank you, Father, for Your awesome wisdom, and for Your willingness to give it generously to Your children. Help me to constantly act in wisdom, and if I’m not wise in a particular area of my life, remind me that You will give it to me in abundance out of Your unfailing love for me. In Your Son’s holy name I pray. Amen.

-“You evildoers frustrate the plans of the poor, but the Lord is their refuge.” Psalm 14:6

The Wicked Witch of the West tried everything in her power to prevent Dorothy and her crew from making their journey to Oz. Her efforts were focused on harming them and discouraging them. Evil people are the same way. They make every effort to prevent Christians from believing in God and Christ, and will do anything to achieve this, even in sneaky ways. God keeps His children focused on Him and their end goal in Him. God’s plans will never fail, and no mere human can prevent them from happening.

Prayer: Dear God, thanks you for being my refuge in my times of trouble and attack. I pray that you will help me stay strong in You when evil people are all around me. Use these instances to help me grow in strength and wisdom. In Jesus’ name I pray. Help me to know Your will and Your plans for my life so that I can work towards spending eternity with you. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

