Every year for as long as I can imagine, I have participated in my local CROP Walk with my church. For the past several years, my mom has been in charge of heading it at my church, which meant recruiting walkers along with raising her own sponsors.

What is the CROP Walk, you ask? It is a walk put together by Church World Services in various communities across the nation. In my community, a local soup kitchen (Manna on Main Street) runs it and a church is the starting and ending point for the walk. A portion of the money stays in the community to help end local hunger, with the rest being sent nationally and globally.

Ending hunger is so important. While so many don’t have to worry about where their next meal is coming from, others don’t have that luxury. I have seen hunger and homelessness in my own community and circle. Kids and adults alike are dying. Veterans, who courageously fought for our country, are finding it difficult to find a job to support them and their families. Families are forced to decide between paying rent and having food.

This doesn’t have to be the case! Donate food and other supplies to you local homeless shelter or soup kitchen. If you want to sponsor me and my family for the CROP Walk, you can do so here. If you’re interested in walking in a CROP Walk go to Church World Services’ CROP Walk website to find a walk.

Leave a Reply

